Overrated Tourist Traps to Avoid at All Costs.

bindeweede
Site Admin

Overrated Tourist Traps to Avoid at All Costs.

Post by bindeweede »

All a matter of opinion, of course. Of the 15, I think I've visited 4, but not in the last 30 years. Just click on the "Start Slideshow" link.

https://www.farandwide.com/s/overrated- ... 6ae93848d5
Tony.Williams

Re: Overrated Tourist Traps to Avoid at All Costs.

Post by Tony.Williams »

I've visited six but, like you, some of them a long time ago.
chaggle

Post by chaggle »

I've only done a couple of those.

I'm not very good with tourist destinations. Although we lived within a couple of hours drive of both for 14 years, we never visited Sevilla nor Cordoba - both of which are tourist hotspots (well we went to Sevilla twice but only to go to Ikea :roll: ).

I prefer to 'go native' (so far as that's possible) on holiday - rural France or small village in Spain.
Don't blame me - I voted remain :con
Tony.Williams

Post by Tony.Williams »

I visited Sevilla, Cordoba and Granada, in three consecutive days! Being on a brief holiday focuses the mind. I lived within easy reach of London for many years but never visited the Tower of London, or many other tourist attractions. If you live close to something, there's always the feeling that you can visit it anytime, there's no rush.... until you move away from the area!
Croydon13013

Post by Croydon13013 »

I saw the Manneken Pis a few years ago and couldn't believe how small and boring it was. The chocolate shop just around the corner was selling chocolate replicas that were larger than the original. When I said this to my parents my dad said that my Uncle Frank had visited it during the second world war and had reported that it was the most pathetic underwhelming statue he had ever seen.
Here it is with some fat bloke standing in front of it:
http://photobucket.com/gallery/user/Rob ... uanBn?ref=
thIS sIGnaTure iS an
bindeweede
Site Admin

Post by bindeweede »